Sunday, October 15, 2017

Book Review of The Oregon Kids Runaway Whiskers By Bob Richley

The
Oregeon Kids
Runaway Whiskers 
By: Bob Richley
Review By: Brittany Perez (Oh My Bookness) October 15,2017 3:21am



  • Publication date: August 17, 2017
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Book Length: 34 pages 
  • ASIN: B074PXX5K1
  • ISBN-10: 1546928812
  • ISBN- 13: 978-1546928812

Book Description:

In Runaway Whiskers, the values of honesty and responsibility are exemplified. Autumn finds a pet rabbit and is reluctant to return it. Will she be honest and return it? Johanna is the owner of the rabbit, Whiskers. It was her responsibility to care for the rabbit and close the cage door. When Whiskers runs away because the cage was left open, she is heartbroken

Book Review:

The Oregeon Kids
Runaway Whiskers 

Author: Bob Richley 


  Bob Richley wrote an enjoyable children’s book, 'The Oregeon Kids Runaway Whiskers.' This is a short easy book for a young reader, or for a parent to read to a younger child or to enjoy alone as picture book. It has engaging illustrations that help to pull the story along as well as help to tell the story and to keep one focused. 

The characters are young Autumn, age six, and her brother Billy, who is nine. This book has heart warming pictures of life lessons of character, ethics and honesty. We can all take a step back and take a little refresher about the very fundamentals of ethics and honesty. It's a lesson children will learn while reading without knowing there being taught a lesson about it.

When Autumn wanted a rabbit and finds one in her back yard, she is reminded throughout the book about the important of values. She is reminded she must choose to make the right decision that would be fair and right for everyone. In the end, to be just, everyone got just what they wanted. Equality. And More. Not only to Autumns own Suprise she ends up not only with her dreams come true, but a best friend!

 At the end of the book is a preview of a few pages from the The Oregon Kids The Big Catch. This is also a book for your young readers to enjoy created by Bob Richley.  This children’s book, Runaway Whiskers  I thought was very pleasurable, and the experience Autumn undergoes will help teach young minds why it’s important to be honest. I think it will also show how their actions will affect the feelings of others when it comes to making decisions, I highly recommend this book for young readers.



About The Author:


Bob Richley is a parent, who has volunteered for years in children's ministry. Teaching children good values and the grace of God are his passions. These stories, originally written for a single mom to help her raise her children, are a way to fulfill this passion and to help children learn good values. Richley has always loved children, wanting all children to be raised with love and grace. It is his hope that his stories will be one of many tools that parents will use to teach and to raise their children with godly values.

Purchase Book:



Follow Oh My Bookness© and More:


Contact:


Follow/ Keep Up To Date:

©Published 15th October  by  All Rights Reserved to Oh My Bookness and The above and its Contributors.






©Britany Perez and Oh My Bookness October 2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Brittany Perez Oh My Bookness with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Book Review of Jorie and the Magic Stones by A.H.Richardson

Jorie
AND THE MAGIC STONES
By: A.H. Richardson
Review By: Brittany Perez (Oh My BooknessSeptember 27,2017 4:45pm







  • Publication date: December 26, 2014
  • Publisher: Serano Press
  • Book Length: 268
  • ASIN: B00UMDLDAQ
  • ISBN-10: 0692358927
  • ISBN- 13: 978-0692358924


  • Book Description:

    When Marjorie went to live with her frosty maiden aunt, she couldn’t imagine the adventures she would have with dragons — good and bad — and all the strange creatures that live in a mysterious land beneath the Tarn. The spunky 9-year-old redhead forges an unlikely friendship with an insecure young boy named Rufus who lives with his crusty grandfather next door. When Jorie — for that is what she prefers to be called — finds a dusty ancient book about dragons, she learns four strange words that will send the two of them into a mysterious land beneath the Tarn, riddled with enchantment and danger. Hungry for adventure, the children take the plunge, quite literally, and find themselves in the magic land of Cabrynthius. Upon meeting the good dragon, the Great Grootmonya, Jorie and Rufus are given a quest to find the three Stones of Maalog — stones of enormous power — and return them to their rightful place in Cabrynthius. Their mission is neither easy nor safe, and is peppered with perils in the form of the evil black half-dragon who rules the shadowy side of the land. They have to deal with a wicked and greedy professor, the tragic daughter of the bad dragon, caves of fire, rocky mountainous climbs, and a deadly poisonous butterfly. Jorie must rely on her wits and courage to win the day? Can she do this? Can she find all three Stones? Can she save Rufus when disaster befalls him? Can she emerge victorious? She and Rufus have some hair-raising challenges, in which they learn valuable lessons about loyalty, bravery, and friendship.


    Book Review:

    Jorie
    AND THE MAGIC STONES

    Author: A.H. Richardson 


     This is a enjoyable and enchanting book for young readers. A.H Richardson created a fantasy and adventure story that will captivate young minds as they follow Jorie and her friend Rufus on a journey to a magical land that will lead them into the unknown.

     This story book has everything for an imaginative child to enjoy, dragons, dangerous butterflies, hieroglyphics and more. Jorie journey of adventure is fun and easy to read, the plot isn’t hard to understand which will make it so much enjoyable for them to understand.

     I think it’s a well written book for young readers to to go and explore breathtaking lands and fabulous creatures. Find out how Jorie and Rufus become closer friends and how working together gets them through tough situations.


    About The Author:


    A.H. Richardson is a treasured storyteller, whose unlimited imagination conjures up challenging and unforgettable characters, both good and evil, that dare children everywhere to delve into their own imaginations and learn to rely on courage and bravery to win the day. Born in England (yes, there are dragons there too), the author has always loved tales of flying and mythical magical creatures. She once tried to pin wings on her pony, quite sure that he could then fly! She is the daughter of the famous composer, Clive Richardson, who always encouraged her to write, even as a small child. She paints and sculpts, plays guitar, is a linguist, acted in films and on stage, and has trained dressage competitors. She is the proud mother of three grown sons and grandmother to three active, loving grandchildren. At present, she keeps a horse named Amaretto and writes her fabulous fantasies from her adopted home in Tennessee near the picturesque Smoky Mountains. It is there that she writes happily about the indomitable Jorie and her adventures.

    Web/Follow:


    Purchase Book:





    Follow Oh My Bookness© and More:


    Contact:


    Follow/ Keep Up To Date:

    ©Published 27th September  by  All Rights Reserved to Oh My Bookness and The above and its Contributors.











    ©Britany Perez and Oh My Bookness September 2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Brittany Perez Oh My Bookness with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

    Friday, September 22, 2017

    Book Review of Henry and the Hidden Treasure By B.C.R.Fegan & Illustrated By Kenny Wen

    Henry and the Hidden Treasure 
    By: B.C.R.Fegan Illustrated By Kenny Wen
    Review By: Brittany Perez (Oh My BooknessSeptember 22,2017 4:14pm




    • Publication date: August 3, 2017
    • Publisher: TaleBlade
    • Book Length: 32 pages 
    • ASIN: B0719JXRRT
    • ISBN-10:099535924
    • ISBN- 13: 978-0995359246


    Book Description:

    Henry and the Hidden Treasure is an imaginative adventure a young child has in defending his pocket money against his little sister. Henry constructs elaborate defensive measures that he is sure will stand up to the clever ambitions of Lucy. Little does he know, Lucy has a few tricks of her own.

    With a focus on introducing children to the use of ordinal numbers, Henry and the Hidden Treasure also draws out some important qualities of being a kid – such as creativity, the value of listening to parental advice, and of course, being nice to your sister.

    Book Review:

    Henry and the Hidden Treasure

    Author: B.C.R. Fegan
    Illustrated By
    Kenny Wen

    Henry
    TaleBlade Press


     Henry and the Hidden Treasure is a sweet story about a little boy name Henry with a big imagination. Henry will go to extreme lengths to keep his money safe from his little sister who he believes is a ninja. This is a well written book for younger children that loves exploring and adventure and it will no doubt engage their active, curious senses and go crazy wild. Your child will also enjoy the illustrations that enlightens each page, the clear buoyancy of each picture that jumps at you as Henry thinks up new ideas to keep his sister from getting his treasure.
    Lucy
    TaleBlade Press

     This is a great short story to sit down with your child and
    read together and of course there is a good lesson at the end for your child to understand if they have a younger sibling that won’t leave them alone.






    About The Author:

    BCR Fegan is an Australian author who has written a number of fairy tales and fantasies for children and young adults. He is inspired by stories that resonate deeply with our desire for adventure, yearning for magic and search for meaning.

    Purchase Book:






       Follow Oh My Bookness© and More:


    Contact:


    Follow/ Keep Up To Date:

    ©Published 22nd September  by  All Rights Reserved to Oh My Bookness and The above and its Contributors.






    ©Britany Perez and Oh My Bookness September 2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Brittany Perez Oh My Bookness with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.




    Monday, July 31, 2017

    Book Review from Oh My Bookness: Guinevere: At the Dawn of Legend Book Two

    Guinevere: At the Dawn of Legend
     Book Two
    Author: Cheryl Carpinello
    Publisher: Beyond Today Educator

    Publication Date: June 21,2017
    Number of Pages: 121


    Book Description:

    “Think before acting,” her father always warned. But Princess Guinevere is ruled by her heart. Her betrothal to King Arthur has not changed this.

    When Guinevere and Cedwyn’s latest adventure takes a dangerous turn, they find themselves embroiled in a life-or-death struggle as foretold by Merlyn’s Goddess of the Stones.

    Renegades—foiled in their attempt to kidnap the princess—steal the children of Cadbury Castle to sell as slaves. Guinevere and Cedwyn vow to rescue the children, but a miscalculation puts them all in more danger. The plan quickly unravels, and Guinevere’s impassioned decisions come crashing down as Cedwyn chooses to turn his dream of becoming a knight into reality. Will their courage be strong enough to survive, or will one make the ultimate sacrifice?

    Book Review:
    Guinevere: At the Dawn of Legend
     Book Two
    Author: Cheryl Carpinello
    Review By: Brittany Perez (Oh My Bookness)
    @ohmybookness
    July 31, 2017

      I’m sorry to say that I didn’t get to read the first book of Guinevere, though if  it’s anythning like this book then I truly have missed out on a extraordinary story. Guinevere is a great story to read, Cheryl took a bold step and a fantastic view on creating a story with a new twist of Guinevere with a loyal friend Cedwyn. It’s not the same dull book about castles, kings and queens. Cheryl has written a chilling mysterious adventure for young readers. Her descriptive detailing to the characters peculiarities and the ambiance of the environment brings the reader more closer being involved with the story.
     Young Cedwyn and Guinevere must take crucial decisions, they must grow up quickly and get their friends to safety while danger follows them with great threats. This is a story of friendship and loyalty not only to each other but to other people that surrounds them. The two children find themselves growing up fast in a short time, to right the wrong they have created. Cedwyn and Guinevere have faced death and seen how cruel the world can be and must stop evil from delivering the innocence into bondage and captivity.

     What I especially like is the list of characters in the beginning of the book informing the reader who they are and who they’re related to. At the end of the story Cheryl tells how she became fascinated with King Arthur and gives a history on Cadbury Castle and other places that is mention in the book.

     This story is full of adventure, magic and heroes, and a learning boost of forging bad and good decisions. I highly recommend this story for youths and for those that have a passion for medieval time and adventures. It was a delight to read and I can’t wait to read “The Legend”, hopefully it’ll come soon!

    About The Author:

    Im   a retired high school English teacher. A devourer of books growing up, my profession introduced me to writings and authors from times long past. Through my studies and teaching, I fell in love with the Ancient and Medieval Worlds. Now, I hope to inspire young readers and those Young-at-Heart to read more through Through ÷e÷e4eeTales and Legends for Reluctant Readers set in these worlds

    Purchase Book:



    Follow Oh My Bookness© and More:

    ©Published July 31st  by  All Rights Reserved to Oh My Bookness and The above and its Contributors.










    ©Britany Perez and Oh My Bookness July 2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Brittany Perez Oh My Bookness with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

    Monday, June 26, 2017

    Book Review From Oh My Bookness: Spiffy Kids!! Storybook of Feelings Collection By J.R. Robinson

    Spiffy Kids!! Storybook of Feelings Collection

    By J.R. Robinson 


    • Publication date: January 11, 2017
    • Publisher: London Publishing 
    • Length: 138
    • ISBN-10: 0578164965
    • ISBN- 13: 978-0578164960















    Book Description:
    Meet your feelings! Spiffy Kids are the crazy, fun-loving characters that stay by your side every moment of your day-they're those wonderful things we call feelings. So whether it's Mad, Happy, Sad, Shy, Worry, or any of the many other Spiffy Kids, at least one is always with you-even right now! This clever little book describes a child's various emotions in a fun and entertaining way, with bright illustrations and lots of humor. It also gives children ways of dealing with these feelings and lets them know they are not alone. Everyone struggles with being mad, having worry, and sadness, and everyone has moments of being happy. Spiffy Kids is a must-have for any child's library! The Spiffy Kids were created by a seven-year-old girl who grew up with an important rule of thumb: Never completely lose what it is like to be a child. By using her imagination, she came up with a way to express herself, giving rise to fun characters that children can relate to.

    Book Review:
    Spiffy Kids:
    Storybook of Feelings Collection
    Author: J.R.Robinson
    Review By: Brittany Perez (Oh My Bookness)
    @ohmybookness
    June 26, 2017

    Spiffy Kids:StoryBook
    Of Feelings Collection 

    Spiffy Kids: Storybook of Feelings Collection by J.R. Robinson is a great imaginative way to introduce children to each emotion, especially ones that they have trouble dealing with or identifying. The characters are cute and adorably goofy with expressions of the 
    emotions that their feeling and with 
    Spiffy Kids: StoryBook
    Of Feelings Collection
    postscript
    added in.Each Spiffy Kid has a different color that they represent with emotion, each emotion are enjoyable or displeasing, either way it's  cleverly written in shortrhythm to keep young minds interested. The characters suggests readers to trynew things and how to deal with the emotions that their feeling, also how the feelings come about and how to recognize the stages of that emotion. 





    Spiffy Kids: StoryBook
    Of Feelings Collection
     The wonderful fun colors on the characters will
    keep the children entertain as they stroll through
    the pages learning about each emotion without feeling that they’re being engulfed with the feeling of
    Spiffy Kids: StoryBook
    Of Feelings Collection 
    overwhelming with emotion. So sit down with your child and I guarantee that you will also have fun with Spiffy Kids as much as the child you’re sharing it with.




    Book Trailer






                                            About Author:


              

    J.R. Robinson lives in Northern California with her epic husband and rock star daughter. Raised in Michigan, she was an only child throughout much of her adolescence—a latchkey kid who learned the true magic and power of the imagination. J.R. Robinson is a believer in the world of imagination above all else. She is also the author of Theodore Roberts and the Key to the Imaginary Door.


    Follow Oh My Bookness©

    ©Published June  by  All Rights Reserved to Oh My Bookness and The above and its Contributors.







    ©Britany Perez and Oh My Bookness June 2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Brittany Perez Oh My Bookness with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.